The Past Few Weeks

HELLO WORLD!

I haven’t blogged in awhile so I thought I would catch everyone at home up on what I’ve been doing and how things are going for me over here in Scandinavia.

A lot has been on my mind lately. I think that living abroad makes one more introspective and thoughtful in general. I’ve always (secretly) been a really deep-thinker about life but it is more so here. I took a walk by myself around my city here and that helped to clear my mind. I am one of those people that needs to go somewhere alone at times. It can get a bit boring here. The city I live in isn’t huge so it gets a bit monogamous at times. Avoiding boredom is something that I need to work on. Whenever i have too much free time, I don’t have as much motivation for my school work. I have always been like that. I prefer to be really busy which is something I miss.


Here are the things that I miss the most so far:

SINGING:

This should not be a big shocker for anyone, including myself. Yup, music actually keeps me sane. I feel like I am going to loose my mind sometimes because I don’t have any music groups to sing in. Needless to say, I will be ready to get back at it when I come home.

FOOD:

Ah, how I miss the food at home. I do not miss how processed & fake it is, or how the milk at home is filled with bad stuff, but I do miss the selection and being able to read the packaging. I get confused at the grocery store here a lot because things are in Swedish.

MY CAR/APARTMENT:

I would have to say that this is obvious. No one likes to carry groceries around or rely on the bus/their own feet. I also miss my apartment and having my big tv :).

FRIENDS/FAMILY:

I of course miss my friends and family. I appreciate them even more now. I appreciate the way that they treat me and how close I am to some people at home. I will be looking forward to getting back to all of you.

So, those are the main things I miss. Pretty normal, nothing too riveting there.


I went to Ullared, the biggest shopping mall in Scandinavia today. It was basically like a thousand JcPenny’s put together. It was mammoth and crowded. It was an interesting experience and I got a few nice things. We took a charter book and it took about three hours each way. I was quite tired by the end of that!

The bags beneath the bus of what all of the people purchased
The bags beneath the bus of what all of the people purchased
Part of the checkout line
Part of the checkout line
My friends: Patricia, Stefanie, & Simone.
My friends: Patricia, Stefanie, & Simone.
Ullared, three hours south of my city.
Ullared, three hours south of my city.

I also went to Gothenburg, the second biggest city in Sweden. It is fantastic and has Starbucks which makes it even better. It is very pretty and rich in culture. I wish that I lived there!

12047732_10153643501629914_826130106_n



I am adjusting to life here. Everyday is a new day with new challenges and possibilities. I do get homesick sometimes and I will be happy to get back to my normal life but I’m also treasuring my time here. To end my blog post, here are a few additional pictures…

A beautiful day with SUN!
A beautiful day with SUN!
Sitting by the water...
Sitting by the water…

I love & miss all of you… 🙂


Leave a Reply

