Living A Healthy Lifestyle: No, I am not on a workout journey.

I totally suck at working out. I enjoy running until I overheat or until I become so frustrated with my lack of physical strength that I stop. I need to work on becoming more comfortable with facing my physical weaknesses head on and conquering them BUT I am on a different kind of journey lately.

It’s kind of like working out for me. I like to begin it, but I don’t like to truly pursue it. Lately, I have decided to change that. My internal dialogue and overall attitude is awful sometimes. I like to assume the worst is going to happen and that I should always be prepared for everything to crumble around me. This has made me a very prepared, successful, and adept young woman yet it just isn’t healthy. I would like to have all of those traits with a much better catalyst behind them.

I was recently shown a snippet from The Four Agreements and it awoke my heart. It was one of those “I needed someone to say this to me for a long time” moments and “I can’t believe this piece of paper is reading my mind” moments.

I used to beat myself up when I would run as well. I would run to be “skinnier” and not to be healthy. Well, I have been behaving similarly when it came to my internal dialogue. I often think “I just have to change my attitude for the moment then I can get back to feeling like crap about everything. I just have to get through this moment”. It’s like, “I need to be skinnier”—no, that’s not the true problem here. The problem is a complete lifestyle change is needed to be healthy. Well, a complete overhaul of my thinking is needed. That takes time. Truly living a healthy lifestyle takes time. It is all very similar.

I cannot expect things to change overnight without years of  work at this. I have always thought I could never change my thinking and free my mind from the weight that I create inside of it while still excelling at everything I do. Guess what? I can, and you can too. Life is way too short to not be living the four agreements that I mentioned above (I am ordering the book today).

  1. Be Impeccable with Your Word
  2. Don’t Take Anything Personally
  3. Don’t Make Assumptions
  4. Always Do Your Best

I struggle with all of these as do most people. I am not going to explain any of these as you can read the book yourself, but please think about beginning the journey to free your mind.

You are totally independent of the good or bad opinions of others.

Assumptions become truths in our mind that spiral out of control in the blink of an eye.

Your best is not always going to be the same best. Sometimes it is going to be vastly inferior to when you are on your game and that is okay. We are not super human machines isolated from the variables of life. Stuff happens and our best is an ever-changing product of ourselves.

Anxiety and depression fill the area where you are doing less than your best self is capable of.

Do yourself a favor and do some self-reflection as it is the best thing you could do to live fully. Simply realizing that you are not freeing yourself by being chained to people’s opinions, expectations, and your own delusion is powerful and more than what most people will ever take the time to realize.

Leave a Reply

